Final Fantasy Bowl 2

This post is a follow up to Final Fantasy Bowl, so if you haven’t given that one a read, I suggest you do so.

Since the last post, I spent an entire open studio from 1pm to 6pm doing the underglazing and glazing on my bowl as well as some of my class time to do touch up to the glazing around the rim, bringing the total time spent on this bowl up well above 15 hours.  Needless to say, after spending so much time on this project, I was pretty invested in the outcome, but sadly there’s only so much you can do before you just have to put the piece in the kiln and hope for the best.  That being said, I’m pretty happy with how the whole project came out.

Without further ado, here are pictures of the sprites on the side of the finished bowl.

Finished Fighter

Finished Fighter

Fighter came out the cloudiest.  The celadon glaze ran a bit thick around the rim and as such, it ran down over the top of the spites a little bit.  That being said, I still think he looks pretty awesome.

Finished Thief

Finished Thief

Thief came out super great.  No complaints here.

Finished Red Mage

Finished Red Mage

Red Mage also came out super well.

Finished Black Belt

Finished Black Belt

Black Belt’s the biggest case of the underglaze running along with the glaze.  You can see the black up above his headband that ran down from the outline of his head and the little drip by the outline of his hand.  He’s still awesome though.

Finished White Mage

Finished White Mage

White Mage was a ton of work because of all the corners in the pattern on her robes and I was really worried about how she’d come out.  That being said, I think she looks the best of any of them and I think all the time spent on doing the sprite justice really paid off.

Finished Black Mage

Finished Black Mage

Black mage also looks really good, but I think his hat looks a little weird since I couldn’t perfectly match the colors.

All tolled, this was a pretty great success and I’m super stoked that my new fruit bowl looks so damn cool and nerdy at the same time!  Huzzah!

This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Final Fantasy Bowl 2

  1. Armoric says:

    Aww, no picture of the whole thing? I was hoping for it while watching all the tiny bits. I was also thinking at first “Hey I like how the sprite looks like near Fighter’s torso and left arm”, and then I realized it was how it was supposed to be for the entire sprite. Too bad, but at the same time the others looked entirely good so no biggie it seems. When you talk about not being able to perfectly match the colors for Black Mage’s hat, is that because of the matter used? It doesn’t give the same feeling if he doesn’t have those weird yellow-glowing eyes. 😛
    Props anyway!

    • smashgizmo says:

      I’ll get a picture of the whole thing up tonight or maybe tomorrow night. That’s just an oversight on my part, sorry.

      As for perfectly matching the colors… well, there’s only so much you can do on clay. I think the colors look about as good as you can hope for, but you’re limited by the colors available for underglazes and on top of that, you can’t be 100% sure of how those colors will come out due to the glaze over top of them. Glazes are pretty finicky and depending on how thick they are on the piece and exactly how the firing in the kiln goes, they can come out pretty differently from one time to the next, so it’s really tough to have a good idea of how exactly a piece will come out.

  2. Pakman says:

    Smash made me a Pacman bowl for my birthday. It is quite awesome.
    I plan on filling it with lemon heads.

Leave a Reply

